TORONTO (November 5, 2015) – The Canadian Football League (CFL) announced today the team winners for the 2015 Shaw CFL Awards. 

The players were selected by voting members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and CFL head coaches. 

In this first ballot, FRC representatives from each CFL city plus the respective head coach submitted votes for the six categories. Voters were asked to select players from their local CFL club who, through the excellence of their on-field performances, best represent the awards’ titles – Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie, and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player. 

The East and West Division winners for the 2015 Shaw CFL Awards will be announced on Thursday, November 12. 

New to the East and West Division second round ballot will be the addition of Coach of the Year. Each division will have a nominee, similar to the player awards.

The 2015 Shaw CFL Awards will be handed out on Thursday, November 26 at the Club Regent Event Centre in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Below are the first ballot results:

*Indicates a unanimous selection

BC Lions

Player: Adam Bighill


Defensive: Adam Bighill*


Canadian: Andrew Harris*


Offensive Lineman: Jovan Olafioye


Special Teams: Chris Rainey


Rookie: Jonathon Jennings


Edmonton Eskimos

Player: Mike Reilly


Defensive: Dexter McCoil


Canadian: Sean Whyte


Offensive Lineman: D’Anthony Batiste


Special Teams: Deon Lacey


Rookie: Derel Walker*


Calgary Stampeders

Player: Bo Levi Mitchell


Defensive: Deron Mayo


Canadian: Junior Turner


Offensive Lineman: Spencer Wilson


Special Teams: Rene Paredes*


Rookie: Tory Harrison


Saskatchewan Roughriders

Player: Jeff Knox Jr.*


Defensive: Jeff Knox Jr.*


Canadian: Rob Bagg


Offensive Lineman: Brendon LaBatte


Special Teams: Dylan Ainsworth


Rookie: Jeff Knox Jr.*


Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Player: Jamaal Westerman


Defensive: Jamaal Westerman


Canadian: Jamaal Westerman*


Offensive Lineman: Stanley Bryant


Special Teams: Troy Stoudermire


Rookie: Khalil Bass


Hamilton Tiger-Cats

Player: Zach Collaros


Defensive: Simoni Lawrence


Canadian: Ted Laurent


Offensive Lineman: Mike Filer


Special Teams: Brandon Banks


Rookie: Terrence Toliver*


Toronto Argonauts

Player: Trevor Harris*


Defensive: Greg Jones


Canadian: Cleyon Laing


Offensive Lineman: Gregory Van Roten


Special Teams: Brian Rolle


Rookie: Vidal Hazelton



Player: Henry Burris*


Defensive: Damaso Munoz


Canadian: Brad Sinopoli


Offensive Lineman: SirVincent Rogers


Special Teams: Antoine Pruneau


Rookie: Forrest Hightower


Montreal Alouettes

Player: Stefan Logan


Defensive: Winston Venable


Canadian: Luc Brodeur-Jourdain


Offensive Lineman: Jeff Perrett


Special Teams: Stefan Logan


Rookie: Boris Bede*


Olivier Poulin

Manager, Communications, Canadian Football League

Paulo Senra

Director, Communications, Canadian Football League

Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About the Canadian Football League

Built on a foundation of more than 110 years of football tradition and history, the Canadian Football League features nine teams, millions of fans and a commitment to service to the community, as well as, elite sport. To stay up to date with CFL news, visit CFL.ca.


50 Wellington Street East - 3rd Floor Toronto, ON M5E 1C8, CANADA

(416) 322-9650