The Canadian Football League (CFL) announced today the team winners for the 2016 Shaw CFL Awards. 

The award recipients were selected by voting members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and CFL head coaches. 

In this first ballot, FRC representatives from each CFL city as well as the respective head coach submitted votes for six categories. Voters were asked to select players from their local CFL club who, through the excellence of their on-field performances, best represent the awards’ titles – Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie, and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player.

The East and West Division winners for the 2016 Shaw CFL Awards will be announced on Thursday, November 10. 

The 2016 Shaw CFL Awards will be handed out on Thursday, November 24 in Toronto, Ontario.

Below are the first ballot results:

*Indicates a unanimous selection

BC Lions

Player: Jonathon Jennings
Defensive: Solomon Elimimian
Canadian: Shawn Gore
Offensive Lineman: Jovan Olafioye
Special Teams: Chris Rainey*
Rookie: Antonio Johnson*

Edmonton Eskimos

Player: Mike Reilly*
Defensive: Almondo Sewell
Canadian: Sean Whyte
Offensive Lineman: Justin Sorensen
Special Teams: Sean Whyte
Rookie: Brandon Zylstra

Calgary Stampeders

Player: Bo Levi Mitchell*
Defensive: Charleston Hughes*
Canadian: Jerome Messam*
Offensive Lineman: Derek Dennis
Special Teams: Rene Paredes
Rookie: DaVaris Daniels*

Saskatchewan Roughriders

Player: Naaman Roosevelt
Defensive: Otha Foster
Canadian: Tyler Crapigna
Offensive Lineman: Thaddeus Coleman
Special Teams: Tyler Crapigna
Rookie: Justin Cox

Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Player: Matt Nichols
Defensive: Maurice Leggett*
Canadian: Andrew Harris
Offensive Lineman: Travis Bond
Special Teams: Justin Medlock*
Rookie: Taylor Loffler

Hamilton Tiger-Cats

Player: Andy Fantuz
Defensive: John Chick
Canadian: Andy Fantuz*
Offensive Lineman: Ryan Bomben
Special Teams: Brandon Banks
Rookie: Brandon Revenberg

Toronto Argonauts

Player: Brandon Whitaker
Defensive: Shawn Lemon
Canadian: Lirim Hajrullahu
Offensive Lineman: Greg Van Roten
Special Teams: Lirim Hajrullahu
Rookie: Sean McEwen


Player: Ernest Jackson
Defensive: Damaso Munoz
Canadian: Brad Sinopoli
Offensive Lineman: Jon Gott
Special Teams: Tristan Jackson
Rookie: Jason Lauzon-Séguin

Montreal Alouettes

Player: Bear Woods
Defensive: Bear Woods
Canadian: Sam Giguere
Offensive Lineman: Kristian Matte
Special Teams: Stefan Logan
Rookie: Jonathon Mincy

Paulo Senra

Director, Communications, Canadian Football League

Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About the Canadian Football League

Built on a foundation of more than 110 years of football tradition and history, the Canadian Football League features nine teams, millions of fans and a commitment to service to the community, as well as, elite sport. To stay up to date with CFL news, visit CFL.ca.


50 Wellington Street East - 3rd Floor Toronto, ON M5E 1C8, CANADA

(416) 322-9650