A STATEMENT FROM THE CANADIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE

A STATEMENT FROM THE CANADIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE

TORONTO (November 8, 2018) -- The Canadian Football League (CFL) has released the following statement:

Out of respect for our veterans and especially to honour those who made the ultimate sacrifice for our freedoms, and in recognition of fans watching the game in the British Columbia time zone, the Canadian Football League will pause this Sunday’s Eastern Semi-Final playoff game between the BC Lions and Hamilton Tiger-Cats in Hamilton for a moment of silence at 11 a.m. Pacific Time (2 p.m. Eastern Time).

The CFL wishes to thank the Lions, Tiger-Cats and our fans for their cooperation. 

This pause will occur in addition to remembering our veterans during the pre-game coin toss ceremonies prior to the game in Hamilton, which kicks off at 1 pm Eastern Time (10 am Pacific Time) and the Western Semi-Final between the Saskatchewan Roughriders and the Winnipeg Blue Bombers in Regina, where kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. Eastern Time (3:30 p.m. Central Time). All players will sport a poppy decal on their helmets. The CFL and its member clubs thank all of our Canadian veterans for their service.

Contact us
Lucas Barrett Manager, Communications & Public Affairs, Canadian Football League
Lucas Barrett Manager, Communications & Public Affairs, Canadian Football League
About the Canadian Football League

Training camps open on May 19 and the 2019 season begins on June 13 when the Saskatchewan Roughriders face off against the Hamilton Tiger-Cats. Fans can stay up to date on all the non-stop action at CFL.ca, follow the 2019 season from around the world, and join us at a game. The 107th Grey Cup presented by Shaw will be played at McMahon Stadium in Calgary on Sunday, November 24.