CFL Commissioner, Jeffrey L. Orridge unveils a nominee from each division as a new AGF League partnership is announced

TORONTO (November 12, 2015) – The Canadian Football League (CFL) announced today the West and East Division nominees for the 2015 Annis Stukus Trophy, awarded annually to the CFL Coach of the Year. Edmonton Eskimos Head Coach, Chris Jones, and Ottawa REDBLACKS Head Coach, Rick Campbell earned the nod as voted by 65 members of the Football Reporters of Canada.

Also announced today, the 2015 Coach of the Year will now be known as the AGF CFL Coach of the Year, as AGF Investments begin their multi-year sponsorship of the Annis Stukus Trophy, to be awarded at the already sold out Shaw CFL Awards which take place during a stellar line up of events at Grey Cup Week in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

This multi-year agreement between the CFL and AGF builds on a partnership and multimedia campaign which began in the fall of 2014 to promote the value of professional advice. For the 2016 CFL season, AGF will be launching the AGF Community Coach of the Year Award to recognize financial advisors who volunteer their time to coach an amateur sports team and promote the ideals of dedication, sportsmanship and team work.

Jones and Campbell joined the press conference via conference call as both teams prepare to host the West and East Division Finals on November 22nd in Edmonton and Ottawa respectively.

Chris Jones

In his second season as a head coach in the CFL, Chris Jones has gone a perfect two for two in Coach of the Year nominations. In his sophomore season, Jones led the Eskimos to a 14-4 record, while punching their ticket to the West Final and one win away from their first Grey Cup appearance since 2005.  This season, Jones led the Eskimos to allow the least points in the CFL this season. In his two years as a head coach, Jones has compiled a 26-10 record with the Edmonton Eskimos.

Rick Campbell

In Ottawa’s second season under Rick Campbell, the REDBLACKS turned from a two win team to an Ottawa best, 12 win team. After finishing first in the East Division, the team will host its first playoff game in 32 years and their first East Final game since 1978.  This season, Ottawa was fueled by the best net offence in the CFL and also attacked the quarterback extremely well by leading the league with 62 sacks.

The 103rd Grey Cup presented by Shaw will be played in Winnipeg on Sunday, November 29 and will be available on TSN/RDS in Canada, ESPN2 in the United States, Pacific Rim and the Caribbean, ESPN on BT Sport in the UK and Ireland and live streamed via YouTube in almost every major country, with the exception of China.

The Grey Cup will also be streamed live on ESPN Play in Mexico, Central America, South America (excluding Brazil) and the Caribbean, in Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands and WatchESPN in Brazil. Additionally, the Grey Cup will be available on tape delay in Brazil via ESPN+ (December 1 at 12:30 p.m. US ET) and in Australia and New Zealand on ESPN (November 30 at 5 a.m. US ET and December 1 at 11:30 a.m. US ET).


“On behalf of our Board of Governors and our entire league, I want to congratulate Chris Jones and Rick Campbell on this tremendous honour, and thank AGF for recognizing outstanding leadership in the CFL and in communities across Canada.”

  • Jeffrey L. Orridge, CFL Commissioner 

“Like an advisor, a coach is positioning the team to reach a goal. From the pep talk in the locker room to the last play of the game they bring value to their team. AGF is proud to sponsor the Coach of the Year Award to recognize the advice, hard work and leadership of the CFL’s coaches.”

  • Blake C. Goldring, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer at AGF Management Limited

Paulo Senra

Director, Communications, Canadian Football League

Olivier Poulin

Manager, Communications, Canadian Football League

Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About the Canadian Football League

Built on a foundation of more than 110 years of football tradition and history, the Canadian Football League features nine teams, millions of fans and a commitment to service to the community, as well as, elite sport. To stay up to date with CFL news, visit


50 Wellington Street East - 3rd Floor Toronto, ON M5E 1C8, CANADA

(416) 322-9650