Shaw CFL Awards show to honour league's best on Thursday, November 26 in Winnipeg

TORONTO – Calgary Stampeders quarterback Bo Levi Mitchell and Ottawa REDBLACKS pivot Henry Burris will both vie for the league’s top individual honour, the Most Outstanding Player award.

The Canadian Football League announced today that the two players have been voted Most Outstanding Player in their respective divisions. The winner will be announced at the Shaw CFL Awards show on Thursday, November 26 at Club Regent Event Centre in Winnipeg, Manitoba as part of the 103rd Grey Cup presented by Shaw festivities. 

The Most Outstanding Player awards, which include six categories, are decided by 78 votes from Football Reporters of Canada and head coaches from across the league. 

Here are all of this year's Most Outstanding Player nominees: 





Bo Levi Mitchell (CGY)

Henry Burris (OTT)


Adam Bighill (BC)

Simoni Lawrence (HAM)


Jamaal Westerman (WPG)

Brad Sinopoli (OTT)


Jovan Olafioye (BC)

SirVincent Rogers (OTT)


Rene Paredes (CGY)

Brandon Banks (HAM)


Derel Walker (EDM)

Vidal Hazelton (TOR)

Burris earned the third Most Outstanding Player nomination of his 15-year CFL career. His first nomination came in 2008; he received his second in 2010 and was voted the CFL’s Most Outstanding Player of that year. Burris’ 5,693 passing yards in 2015 was the most by a quarterback in a single season since Anthony Calvillo had 6,041 in 2004. Burris also became the oldest player ever to lead the league in passing yards and helped the REDBLACKS to the second-best turnaround of +10 wins.

102nd Grey Cup MVP Bo Levi Mitchell received the first Most Outstanding Player nomination of his young career. He helped lead the Stampeders to a 14-4 record in 2015 and improved his career win-loss record as a starter to 28-6, the best start for any quarterback in their first 34 starts in the CFL. He finished the season second in passing yards with 4,551 (a career-high) with 26 touchdown passes.

BC offensive lineman Jovan Olafioye received his third nomination for Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman (with previous nominations coming in 2011 and 2012). He won the award in 2012.

The Most Outstanding Rookie finalists are Derel Walker and Vidal Hazelton. This year marks the first time that both finalists are receivers since 2008 when Prechae Rodriguez and Weston Dressler were named finalists for the award.

Up against Hamilton Tiger-Cats return man Brandon Banks, Rene Paredes will be looking to win his second Most Outstanding Special Teams Player award and become only the second player to ever win the award twice. The only previous player to do so was Corey Holmes in 2002 and 2005.

The CFL announced the AGF CFL Coach of the Year candidates earlier today: Edmonton Eskimos head coach Chris Jones and Ottawa REDBLACKS head coach Rick Campbell.

Voters were asked to select players from their local CFL division who, through their on-field performance excellence, best represent the awards' titles: Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie, and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player. Voters were also asked to select the AGF Coach of the Year candidates. 

Olivier Poulin

Manager, Communications, Canadian Football League

Paulo Senra

Director, Communications, Canadian Football League

Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About the Canadian Football League

Built on a foundation of more than 110 years of football tradition and history, the Canadian Football League features nine teams, millions of fans and a commitment to service to the community, as well as, elite sport. To stay up to date with CFL news, visit


50 Wellington Street East - 3rd Floor Toronto, ON M5E 1C8, CANADA

(416) 322-9650