Hamilton nurse recognized for incredible service; represents the millions of frontline workers that courageously safeguarded the nation during the pandemic

HAMILTON – The Canadian Football League (CFL) is honoured to present nurse Sara May with the 2021 Commissioner’s Award for her incredible service to the Hamilton and Halton community throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

“On behalf on the CFL and all of our fans, I’d like to express our deepest gratitude to nurse May for her tremendous efforts over the past two years,” said CFL Commissioner Randy Ambrosie. “We are forever grateful for the courage and compassion she displayed in safeguarding the Hamilton community and the many people – our neighbours, friends and family members – who mean so much to all of us.”

Nurse May is an Employee Health Registered Nurse with Hamilton Health Sciences. Throughout the pandemic, she has played an integral role in COVID-19 infection prevention and control, contact tracing and outbreak management for staff, physicians and learners at Hamilton Health Sciences. Nurse May was recognized this year by Hamilton Health Sciences for her exceptional devotion, courage and the exemplary care she provided in nursing, and was awarded with the prestigious Nightingale Nursing Excellence Award. 

While nurse May has been a pillar of strength and care in the Hamilton community, she also represents her thousands of colleagues across the country, as well as, the millions of frontline workers – doctors, healthcare workers and providers, police officers, EMTs, supply chain operators, maintenance staff, food service providers, and much more – who have guided the nation through the pandemic.

“While most of us sat safely at home, our frontline workers bravely stood on guard for Canada,” added Commissioner Ambrosie. “Frontline workers around the world did everything they could to help watch over us, and to keep us healthy, safe, protected and provided for.

“Their strength and sacrifice have delivered us to this moment and our championship game on Sunday. They are our true heroes. We recognize nurse May tonight, and we thank her and all of our incredible frontline workers for all they have done, and all they continue to do.”

The Commissioner's Award is presented annually by the Commissioner of the CFL to an individual who has demonstrated dedication and made a significant contribution to Canadian Football. The award was first introduced in the 1990 CFL season. Past winners include Wally Buono, Ron Lancaster, Russ Jackson, Hugh Campbell, Bernie Custis and more.

The CFL Awards are the marquee event of Grey Cup Week, celebrating the season’s best performances and recognizing its leaders on and off the field. A number of fan favourite celebrations, such as the Spirit of Edmonton events and the Eastern and Western Social Halls, remain before the big game. Additional information can be found at

The 108th Grey Cup from Hamilton’s Tim Hortons Field, featuring Arkells and special guests, The Lumineers, in the Twisted Tea Grey Cup Halftime Show, will be played on Sunday, December 12 at 6 p.m. ET. The game will be broadcast live on TSN and RDS – Canada’s home of the CFL.

Lucas Barrett

Lucas Barrett

Director, Communications & Public Affairs, Canadian Football League

Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About the Canadian Football League

Built on a foundation of more than 110 years of football tradition and history, the Canadian Football League features nine teams, millions of fans and a commitment to service to the community, as well as, elite sport. To stay up to date with CFL news, visit


50 Wellington Street East - 3rd Floor Toronto, ON M5E 1C8, CANADA

(416) 322-9650