2019 inductees officially enshrined in Hamilton

HAMILTON (August 9, 2019) – Seven legends of Canadian Football have officially been welcomed into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame (CFHOF) as members of the 2019 induction class.

Jon Cornish, Mervyn Fernandez, Terry Greer, Ernie Pitts (posthumous) and David Williams are the CFHOF’s newest additions in the Player category, and former Saskatchewan club president Jim Hopson and legendary University of British Columbia coach Frank Smith have joined the Builder category. Ernie Pitts Jr., representing his father, joined the other inductees to take part in the momentous occasion.

As part of the Induction Ceremony, the seven busts of this year’s inductees were unveiled. The CFHOF now houses busts of all 303 of its members. The evening celebration serves as the lead-in to this year’s Hall of Fame game on Saturday, August 10. The BC Lions will visit Hamilton with kickoff slated for 7 p.m. ET.

Full bios of the seven inductees can be found here.

The photos below of the 2019 Canadian Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are available for media use and should be credited to Kevin Sousa/

Lucas Barrett

Manager, Communications & Public Affairs, Canadian Football League

Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About the Canadian Football League

Built on a foundation of more than 110 years of football tradition and history, the Canadian Football League features nine teams, millions of fans and a commitment to service to the community, as well as, elite sport. To stay up to date with CFL news, visit


50 Wellington Street East - 3rd Floor Toronto, ON M5E 1C8, CANADA

(416) 322-9650