POSTPONED EDMONTON ELKS - TORONTO ARGONAUTS GAME RESCHEDULED TO NOVEMBER 16

POSTPONED EDMONTON ELKS - TORONTO ARGONAUTS GAME RESCHEDULED TO NOVEMBER 16

Domino effect sparks other changes to CFL schedule

TORONTO - The Edmonton Elks at Toronto Argonauts game, which was postponed from August 26 because of Covid-19 concerns, has been successfully rescheduled to Tuesday, November 16 at 7:30 pm EST, the Canadian Football League (CFL) announced today.

Another organization, which previously had a hold on BMO Field for that date, agreed to relinquish it if accommodated elsewhere. That contributed to a “domino effect” which has caused some other changes to the CFL schedule:

  • The Saskatchewan Roughriders - Edmonton Elks game scheduled for Friday, November 5 at 9:45 pm EDT in Saskatchewan will now be played instead in Edmonton on the same date at the same time.
  • The Saskatchewan Roughriders - Edmonton Elks game scheduled in Edmonton for Saturday, November 13 at 7:00 pm EST will now be played in Saskatchewan on the same date at 4 pm EST.
  • The Winnipeg Blue Bombers - Montreal Alouettes game scheduled for Saturday, November 13 at 4:00 pm EST in Montreal will now be played on the same date and at the same location but at 1:00 pm EST.

Since the realigned schedule results in the Elks playing a series of three games over a period of seven days, the CFL and the Canadian Football League Players Association have agreed that both teams can each add an additional five players to their active rosters for the following games: 

  • Edmonton at Toronto on Tuesday, November 16
  • Edmonton at BC on Friday, November 19

The complete CFL schedule is available at CFL.ca. Here is a summary of the changes:

Original Schedule Revised Schedule
Friday November 5
EDM at SSK 
9:45 pm EDT/ 7:45 pm CST
Friday November 5
SSK at EDM
9:45 pm EDT/ 7:45 pm MDT
Saturday November 13
WPG at MTL
4:00 pm EST
Saturday November 13
WPG at MTL
1:00 pm EST
Saturday November 13
SSK at EDM
7:00 pm EST/ 5:00 pm MST
Saturday November 13
EDM at SSK
4:00 pm EST/ 3:00 pm CST
Thursday August 26
EDM at TOR
7:30 pm EST    
Tuesday November 16
EDM at TOR
7:30 pm EST
Contact us
Lucas Barrett
Lucas Barrett Director, Communications & Public Affairs, Canadian Football League
Lucas Barrett
Lucas Barrett Director, Communications & Public Affairs, Canadian Football League
About the Canadian Football League

Governors representing the Canadian Football League’s nine member clubs voted in June to return to play after a hiatus forced by the COVID-19 pandemic. The 2021 season which features a 14-game regular campaign for its’ teams started on August 5 and will lead to the 108th Grey Cup on December 12 in Hamilton, Ontario. To stay up to date with news, analysis and more from around the league, visit CFL.ca.

the Canadian Football League
50 Wellington Street East - 3rd Floor
Toronto, ON M5E 1C8, CANADA