Remote Reunion driven by Kubota to bring together the league’s historic teams to relive past glory

TORONTO (JULY 20, 2020) – The Canadian Football League (CFL) and Kubota are teaming up to virtually reunite some of the most memorable squads to ever hit Canadian gridiron. Remote Reunion driven by Kubota will surprise the likes of Doug Flutie, Warren Moon, Geroy Simon, Jeff Garcia and Tracy Ham with former teammates to re-watch and recount championships and historic games from the past 30 years.

“During this time of being apart, it’s more important than ever to connect and re-connect in meaningful ways,” said CFL Commissioner Randy Ambrosie. “Through Remote Reunion and our friends at Kubota, we’ve had the privilege of bringing together friends, teammates and brothers-in-arms to relive some of the biggest career-defining and championship-winning moments in our game’s storied past.”

The 10-episode series kicks off on July 20 with the 2011 BC Lions writing the final chapter of one of the CFL’s most historic turnaround stories in recent memory. After beginning the season 0-5, the Lions went on to capture the Grey Cup at home under the bright lights of a refurbished BC Place, matching the 1994 edition of the team as the only ones in franchise history to be crowned champions in Vancouver. The series premiere will see Simon unknowingly joined by former teammates like Travis Lulay and current Lions QB Mike Reilly, who was an up-and-coming rookie at the time.

Remote Reunion driven by Kubota will also showcase the Flutie-led 1996 Argonauts, one of the squads from Edmonton’s dynasty era headlined by Moon, and the back-to-back thrillers between the Garcia-helmed 1998 Stampeders and the 1999 Tiger-Cats under the leadership of Danny McManus and Orlondo Steinauer.

Two of the more unique episodes feature the first-ever Ottawa REDBLACKS game from 2014, as well as, the only U.S.-based team to win the Grey Cup – the 1995 Baltimore Stallions with Mike Pringle, Tracy Ham, Elfrid Payton and more. The complete series schedule will be unveiled at a later date.



Alumni Featured

2011 BC Lions

Korey Banks, Travis Lulay, Ryan Phillips, Mike Reilly, Geroy Simon

1996 Toronto Argonauts

Doug Flutie, Reggie Givens, Mike Kiselak, Paul Masotti, Adrion Smith

2007 Saskatchewan Roughriders

Eddie Davis, James Johnson, Kerry Joseph, Jeremy O’Day

1981 Edmonton Eskimos

Ed Jones, Warren Moon, Tom Scott, Eric Upton

1998 Calgary Stampeders

Kelvin Anderson, Wally Buono, Jeff Garcia, Mark McLoughlin, Rocco Romano

1999 Hamilton Tiger-Cats

Carl Lamonte, Danny McManus, Mike Morreale, Paul Osbaldiston, Orlondo Steinauer

2009 Montreal Alouettes

Ben Cahoon, Anthony Calvillo, Avon Cobourne, Jamel Richardson, Davis Sanchez, Anwar Stewart, Marc Trestman

1994 Winnipeg Blue Bombers
(Matt Dunigan’s record game)

Bob Cameron, Matt Dunigan, Miles Gorrell, Alfred Jackson, Chris Walby, David Williams

2014 Ottawa REDBLACKS
(first game)

Participants to be announced at a later date

1995 Baltimore Stallions

Robert Drummond, Tracy Ham, Demetrious Maxie, Elfrid Payton, Mike Pringle

Lucas Barrett

Director, Communications & Public Affairs, Canadian Football League

Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About the Canadian Football League

Built on a foundation of more than 110 years of football tradition and history, the Canadian Football League features nine teams, millions of fans and a commitment to service to the community, as well as, elite sport. To stay up to date with CFL news, visit


50 Wellington Street East - 3rd Floor Toronto, ON M5E 1C8, CANADA

(416) 322-9650